What Are WiFi Standards?

The Guest WiFi analysis tools are that allow you to analyze and monitor how guest WiFi network in near-real time. These tools give insight into the use of networks as well as connectivity and user behaviour, allowing administrators to improve your user WiFi service for guests. Utilizing the most recent WiFi standards developed by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) The guests’ WiFi analytics guarantee a speedy and reliable Internet connection to guests, increasing the quality of the service.

WiFi Standards: The Evolution of Wi-Fi Standards

WiFi standards have been evolving since its inception back in 1997, to provide better services and standards for networking. WiFi standards define the exact mechanism that is in use to ensure Internet connectivity. They function according to a set of protocols that govern the operation of a particular WiFi network you’re connected to.

Version Baseline 802.11 is one of the more frequently used Wi-Fi standard, which has been revised numerous times. The WiFi standards are updated by the IEEE regularly. The standard currently in use is 802.11.ac while the new WiFi standard 802.11ax known as WiFi 6 and WiFi 6E, were just recently released. But, it doesn’t render the older standards obsolete.

Speeds and WiFi specifications:


In 1999, the 802.11a IEEE standard operates in 5 GHz band , which is designed to fit the offices in open space. It improved the 802.11 version, which was made inoperative with time. The highest data speed of 802.11a increased to 54Mbps (megabits per second). However the range of signals remains rather limited.


The standard was developed in the mid-1999 time frame, operating on 2.4 channel frequency. It was recognized as the most advanced wireless LAN technology within a short period of the course of. 802.11b is able to attain a maximum data speed at 11 Mbps.


802.11g is the standard that was approved in 2003 that operates on the frequency that is 2.4 GHz and a maximum speed that is 54Mbps. 802.11g standards were adopted to allow better data rates, such as dual-band/tri-mod routers that led to the widespread acceptance of the standard.

802.11n (WiFi 4)

This modified this version of the 802.11 standard for WiFi in the year 2009 to provide an operating capability of 2.4 five bands at 5GHz simultaneously. Also known as WiFi 4. The additional standard offered support for multi-channel transmission and multi-user. 802.11n standard was designed to provide a faster maximum data rate and allows an increase in speed of connection to 600 Mbps.

802.11ac (WiFi 5)

This standard, also referred to as WiFi 5, has been issued in the IEEE in the year 2014. It also included improvements to 802.11n that added additional features, and is widely used by wireless devices. The most notable changes include support for MU-MIMO (multi-user multiple-input, multiple-output) and additional broadcast channels in the 5GHz band , as well as an antenna upgrade for single routers. The maximum speed of data is the limit of 1.3. Gbps.

802.11ax (WiFi 6)

The standard, also known as WiFi 6, has been designed to improve the efficiency and efficiency of WLAN networks. The most recent WiFi standards allow for different kinds of simultaneous data , split into resource units of various sizes at 80 MHz as defined in the IEEE specification that was released in September 2020. The total changes are 30-40% better in comparison to the prior WiFi standard which were WiFi 5. It is anticipated that the number of subcarriers will double in comparison with the 802.11ac standards, and this basically implies that routers using WiFi broadcast signals more quickly and in an environment that includes many more devices. Therefore, the ax upgrade provides faster broadcast frequencies at speeds that can reach the speed of 10Gbps or 12 Gbps at lower distances. The capacity of the network has increased by combining broadcast subchannels as well as upgraded MU-MIMO.

802.11ax (WiFi 6E)

WiFi 6E operates at the additional spectrum capacity in the 6GHz frequency band. It offers more performance and faster data streaming , with a higher speed and bandwidth. It also has faster speeds for data compared to WiFi 6.

802.11be (WiFi 7)

It is anticipated to be the most advanced version of the IEEE 802.11 standard. The enhanced technological features will allow it to function with higher frequency bands of 2.4 five GHz, 2.4 as well as 6 GHz. The WiFi 7 is dubbed “Extremely Fast Throughput” the maximum speed is anticipated to be at least 30 Gbps and the equivalent amount is currently 10 gigabits/second for WiFi 6. WiFi 7. WiFi 7 technology is in its development stage and isn’t set to be released in the near future.

One of the primary questions to consider is whether the different WiFi standards are able to communicate with each other. In fact, different devices joined to the identical WiFi network are capable of communicating without restrictions. But when two devices are attached to access point that have different wireless standards could have issues communicating with each the other. The first WiFi standard of 802.11 is already out of date , while its successors a and b standards are set to be outdated.